

In 2011 the Ohio Council of Teachers of Mathematics (OCTM) will award six \$750 scholarships. An applicant must

- be a junior, senior or graduate student in the fall of 2011 at a college or university in Ohio;
- be enrolled in a program that leads to an Ohio teaching license in a field which includes the teaching of mathematics at some level, K-12; and
- be a prospective first-time teacher (i.e. must not have taught professionally).

Additionally this year, the Sarah Greenholz* Memorial Scholarship of \$1500 will be given to the top applicant who meets the following criteria.

- The awardee of the Greenholtz Scholarship must be working toward a teaching license in a field that includes the teaching of mathematics at some level, K-12.
- A candidate must present strong evidence of the likelihood of future success as a teacher of mathematics.
- Individuals who have taught professionally or who have already earned a bachelor's degree and are changing careers are not eligible for this scholarship.

Persons interested in applying for OCTM Memorial Scholarships must download the application form from our website (<u>http://www.ohioctm.org</u>) and submit the completed application, official college transcript(s) and one letter of support from a college/university faculty member or coorperating teacher.

Please mail these items to: OCTM Scholarships c/o Rebecca E. Maggard P.O. Box 448 Eaton, OH 45320

Applications must be postmarked by May 15, 2010.

Questions may be addressed to Memorial Scholarship Co-Chairs Bonnie Beach (<u>beachb@ohiodominican.edu</u>) or Rebecca Maggard (rmaggard@woh.rr.com)

*Note: Sarah (Sally) Greenholz was a mathematics teacher and supervisor in Cincinnati. She was a charter member of OCTM and served as vice president of NCTM from 1967 to 1969. In 1986 Sarah received the Christofferson-Fawcett Award for Lifetime Contributions to Mathematics Education.

Please feel free to duplicate.